Books, Please

 

Surround me with tea and lavender
With sunshine and golden leaves
Don’t give me art or history
Just give me books, please

A carpet of crafts in a quiet room
And a comfy chair at silent noon
Don’t give me culture or magazines
Just give me books, please

Give me magic and wild lands
Give me heroes with stronger hands
And heroines with flaming hair
Give me books that will take me there

*

A ream of white pages and inky keys
A pot of coffee and a twilight breeze
Don’t give me lectured responsibilities
Just give me books, please.

 

 

© Amanda Smith, 2013. All Rights Reserved.
Please do not copy or reproduce without permission.

By Creative A Posted in Poetry

2 comments on “Books, Please

  1. Hey Grace, I’d be happy to consider it! Why don’t you email me with some more details? Since I’m not sure if you mean a private collection, or blog collection, or something you actually want to publish, etc. Email is: Head Desk For Writers (at) gmail (dot) com.

Leave a Reply

